Which Foods Can You Safely Avoid?
Gluten free diets are those requiring dieters to exclude the protein known as gluten, which is found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten free diets are typically used by patients who have celiac disease; since gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines of these patients, this diet will eliminate the inflammation by removing all forms of gluten from their diets. Gluten free diets help celiac patients control signs and symptoms, and it can also prevent complications from occuring since the diet is cutting out the source of harm (gluten). It may be difficult at first to follow this diet, but over time, and finding news foods which are gluten free, there are many new recipes which can be incorporated into your daily routine.
Individuals who are following gluten free diets must avoid specific foods and beverages which contain gluten. Some of these include: barley, bulgur, matzo meal, farina, graham flour, rye, wheat, and several others. However, there are alternatives to these foods which can be purchased in a gluten free format (or made with corn, rice, soy, or other gluten-free grains), you just have to look for them. Individuals on this diet must also avoid certain foods, unless they specifically say gluten-free on the packaging. Some foods and beverages include: beer, bread, cakes/pie, cereal, crackers/cookies, candies, gravy, oats, pasta, processed lunch meat, dressing, soups, sauces, and other similar products.
These foods have products, such as grains, and oats, which might be contaminated with wheat while they are grown or during the processing stage. Although it isn’t clear if all these foods or any of them affect individuals with celiac disease, but most doctors will recommend their patients to avoid these foods to avoid the risks, unless they have on the label “gluten free,” then they can be consumed without any concern. There are also other products you might not even consider which may contain gluten, and can affect these patients (lipstick, medications and vitamins, food additives), so before using certain products, either check with your doctor, or read the label to ensure you can safely use them.
Additionally, if others in your home cook, make sure to wash cutting boards, knives, pans, and other kitchen products and surfaces, especially if they are not following a gluten free diet as well. Cross contamination might occur between what they cooked, and what you are planning to cook, which can have an adverse affect on your condtion. There are certain grains, however, that you can enjoy, including: corn, buckwheat, arrowroot, gluten-free flours, rice, tapioca, and various others.
With so many individuals affected with this condition who must follow a gluten free diets, many companys and manufacturers are producing gluten free: breads, cereals, pastas, and many other foods which previously couldn’t be enjoyed by these patients. Although it will take a little effort and time to get used to, following a gluten free diet isn’t that bad; and, with a little creativity and browsing supermarket aisles, you can enjoy any meal you desire.